Partner Towns

Znak Bad HesfeldBad Hersfeld (since 1994)

The Hessen spa town of Bad Hersfeld in the Federal Republic of Germany is most proud of its unique set of Gothic historical craft houses and the ruins of the Romanesque monastery, where the music and theatre festival “Bad-hersfelds Festivities” takes place each year in summer. The connecting point of Bad Hersfeld and Šumperk is the European Meeting House (Evropský dům setkávání), the cultural centre of German citizens, who were originally inhabitants of Šumperk. 

Znak EbreichsdorfEbreichsdorf (since 2002)

The Lower-Austrian town called Ebreichsdorf is situated in the south of Vienna on the  Piesting river. It was established by connecting four market villages, but it only obtained the status of a town recently, in 2001. In the past, Ebreichsdorf was famous as the seat of a factory producing felt hats, while today it is known most of all as a centre of recreation and sports, especially due to the horse-riding and gold centre near the local chateau. 

Znak MaarssenMaarssen (since 1994)

The Dutch town of Maarssen is situated in the north of Utrecht on the banks of the channel connecting Amsterdam with the River Rhine. It is a traditional home of traders and sailors, but its current economic importance is increased by the fact that it houses the European centre of client services of the Japanese electronic concern Fujitsu. The tourist sights of the town also include the little chateau Goudestein, the seat of the Museum of National History and Geography.

Znak MikulovMikulov (since 1998)

The South-Moravian town of Mikulov with the panoramas of the Dietrichstein chateau and Svatý Kopeček (Saint Hill) is a protected urban historical heritage zone, famous also for the history of the local Jewish community, which is commemorated by a picturesque cemetery and several houses of the Jewish quarter with a synagogue. Mikulov shares a part of the postwar history with Šumperk, when both towns were quickly resettled by settlers from other parts of the Czech Republic after the forced expulsion of German inhabitants. 

Znak NysaNysa (since 1996)

The Silesian town called Nysa in the south of Poland lies near the Jeseníky and Rychlebské Mountains. The town has a rich history as a secondary seat of Vratislav bishops. It has a lot of monuments and its unique atmosphere is enriched by the large water reservoir with the area of 22 km 2, called Nysa Riviera. The town Nysa is the centre of the Euro-region “Neis¬se - Nisa - Nysa”, historically first officially recognised area of cross-border cooperation in Central and Eastern Europe. 

Znak Polock

Polotsk (since 2000)

Polotsk, situated on the Daugava River, is one of the oldest towns in the north of Belarus. Like Šumperk, it was governed by the municipal law of the Magdeburg type in the Middle Ages. The most famous Belarus Francisko Skaryna, multi-talented Renaissance scholar and also a founder of the royal garden of the Prague Castle in1535 – 1539, came from this city.

Znak PrievidzaPrievidza (since 2001)

The metropolis of the Slovakian Horní Nitra with fifty thousands inhabitants is a part of the Trenčínský Region. Like in Šumperk, the status of Prievidza has the status of a royal town (historically proven) and the town also had a strong tradition of textile and clothing crafts, as evidenced by the privilege of the tailor guild from 1545. The city now includes both many areas of greenery and strong industry and traditionally rich and branched business network.